Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

2014 Traxxas Shootout fields full except for fan vote

See also

Fields for the 2014 NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts, the race within a race for the Top Fuel and Funny Car categories, have been filled with the exception of the eighth spot, which will go to the winner of the fan vote in each category. The events will take place at the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis, with Top Fuel showcased on Saturday, August 30th and Funny Car contested on Sunday, August 31st.

Teams qualify for the NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts by winning an NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series regular season event, holding the No. 1 spot in the standings after the event in Brainerd, Minn., or via a fan vote and lottery-style drawing. The NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts will award $100,000 to the winners in both the Top Fuel and Funny Car events. The program will award the top four finishers in each event, with the runners-up receiving $15,000 and the semifinal losers $7,500.

The following drivers are qualified for the 2014 NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts:

Top Fuel

1. Khalid alBalooshi (Pomona 1)

2. Antron Brown (Phoenix)

3. Doug Kalitta (Gainesville)

4. Tony Schumacher (Las Vegas)

5. Spencer Massey (Atlanta)

6. Richie Crampton (Englishtown)

7. Shawn Langdon (Bristol)

8. TBD (fan vote)

Funny Car

1. John Force (Pomona 1)

2. Alexis DeJoria (Phoenix)

3. Robert Hight (Gainesville)

4. Courtney Force (Topeka)

5. Cruz Pedregon (Englishtown)

6. Tommy Johnson Jr. (Bristol)

7. Ron Capps (Epping)

8. TBD (fan vote)

Information provided by the NHRA.

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at