Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

2014 Traxxas Nitro Shootouts: Eight drivers qualified for specialty races

Doug Kalitta is qualified for the Traxxas Nitro Shootout in Top Fuel
NHRA Media

Eight drivers in two categories are qualified for the 2014 NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts, taking place at the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis on Labor Day weekend. The Top Fuel category will be showcased on Saturday, August 30th, and Funny Car will be highlighted on Sunday, August 31st.

Teams qualify for the NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts by winning an NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series regular season event, holding the No. 1 spot in the standings after the event in Brainerd, Minnesota, or via a fan vote and lottery-style drawing. The Shootouts will award $100,000 to the winners in both the Top Fuel and Funny Car events. The program awards the top four finishers in each event, with the runners-up receiving $15,000 and the semifinal losers $7,500.

The following drivers are currently qualified for the 2014 NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootouts:

Top Fuel:

· Khalid alBalooshi

· Antron Brown

· Doug Kalitta

· Tony Schumacher

· Spencer Massey

Funny Car:

· John Force

· Alexis DeJoria

· Robert Hight

Keep up with the 2014 action at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad