Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. General Sports

2014 Olympic ice hockey: Team Canada releases its team roster

See also

With just a month to go before the opening ceremonies kick off the 2014 Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, Team Canada ended months of speculation with the Jan. 7 release of its official men's Olympic ice hockey team roster.

The team, which captured gold at the 2010 Vancouver Games following a dramatic final match against the U.S. squad, will attempt to defend the title with the help of 25 talented athletes, including 11 returning Olympians.

The trio of goaltenders selected to play for Canada include:

  • Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens
  • Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks
  • Mike Smith, Phoenix Coyotes

The eight defensive players include:

  • Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis Blues
  • Dan Hamhuis, Vancouver Canucks
  • Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
  • Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Jay Bouwmeester, St. Louis Blues
  • Marc-Edouard Vlasic, San Jose Sharks
  • P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens
  • Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

The team is rounded out by 14 forwards. Players making the cut are:

  • Jeff Carter, Los Angeles Kings
  • Corey Perry, Anaheim Ducks
  • Jamie Benn, Dallas Stars
  • John Tavares, New York Islanders
  • Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Chris Kunitz, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Patrick Marleau, San Jose Sharks
  • Matt Duchene, Colorado Avalanche
  • Patrick Sharp, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
  • Rick Nash, New York Rangers
  • Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
  • Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning

One of the biggest omissions from the roster is Tampa Bay Lightning captain Marty St. Louis, who was notified of his exclusion late on Jan. 6, hours before any of the other athletes up for spots on the Sochi squad were contacted. St. Louis' snub is his second; he was also left off the gold medal winning 2010 Vancouver team.

2014 Olympic ice hockey action begins Feb. 8 in Sochi.



  • Stephen A. Smith apologizes
    Stephen A. Smith: Ray Rice rant was 'most egregious error of my career'
    Domestic Violence
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • New York Yankees fan returns lost Red Sox World Series ring to owner
    MLB News
  • Brees gets tested
    Saints Drew Brees says he has 10 years left in NFL, immediately gets drug tested
    NFL News
  • Bryan subdues burglar
    Former WWE champ Daniel Bryan holds down burglar with submission move
    Fight Sports
  • Grave defiler identified
    Die-hard Browns fan identified in Art Modell’s grave defiling video
    Crimes & Court