Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

2014 Official SXSW Showcase band The Sour Notes play Valentine's

See also

On their current West Coast swing through Portland, Austin, Texas based-band The Sour Notes will be playing Valentine’s February 10. Led by singer/guitarist Jared Boulanger, the band is actually making their eighth visit to Portland before they head home to Austin to play as an Official 2014 SXSW Showcasing Artist for the third straight year.

The Sour Notes consists of members Boulanger, Amarah Ulghani, Jessica June Kim, Courtney Howell & Erin Howell. They are known for experimenting in many different musical genres accompanied by female guest vocalists.

The Sour Notes formed initially as the moniker for singer/songwriter Jared Boulanger’s solo recording project while living in Houston, Texas in 2008. The band has recorded with a slew of rotating musicians that have produced four self-released albums.

2012 brought the release of split 7-inch record Wait//White on DIY label No Play Music with fellow Austin band, Marmalakes, and the television series Shameless that featured The Sour Notes’ songs Do-ers & Say-ers and One Fell Swoop during its second season premier on Showtime.

The band will be featuring songs from their soon to be released album, Do What May, scheduled for May. Through a captivating first listen, The Sour Notes cover a lot of territory. Boulanger acknowledged the diversity of the album citing, We kind of pride ourselves in being genre-tourists to the point of covering anything from Wire to Beyonce!”

From the album’s first tune, title track Do What May, the pop-centric intro careens between a pop dance beat to garage rock to 60s surfer sounds with infectious, catchy Zoombies-esque flare. The psychedelic surfer pop vibe continues on Don’t Listen, with its aurally crafted organ and horns swirling about with synth-topped chorus.

Two Hands Wait is a perfect example of the band’s genre touring. The song’s 60s psychedelic pop flavor with keyboards and horns and is reminiscent of The Doors Soft Parade period. But The Sour Notes strike a balanced approached to the album including part folk, 60s psychedelia, and rock without sounding contrived or formulated.

The musical adventure continues on the dreamy In The Meanwhile and the thematic Cutthroat, to the driven It Could Be Worse that rocks, glides and rocks some more. The 10-song album covers a range of smart, tightly crafted, inspired songs that transports the listener’s across a multitude of musical landscapes, each offering a new adventure.

Be sure to catch this SXSW talent this time around at the intimate Valentine’s. Show starts at 10pm. Also playing is Mufassa and Contact Club (members of Modern Kin & Tiger House) Tickets at the door, $5.00.


Today's top buzz...

  • Weird Al
    Weird Al is making sure you don't forget about his new album by releasing a video every day
    Music Buzz
  • Mike Priefer
    The Vikings suspend Mike Priefer for three games after allegations of anti-gay remarks
    Today's Buzz
  • Beer
    Outdoor festival to celebrate beer and superheroes during San Diego Comic-Con
    Comic-Con News
  • Mayhem Tour
    The Rockstar Energy Mayhem Tour rolls through Detroit with insane performances
    19 Photos
  • Supernatural
    As fans wait for new episodes, we are sharing 'Supernatural' season 10 spoilers
    10 Photos
  • Chris Jericho
    WWE Battleground brought fans some big shockers at the pay-per-view-event
    Fight Sports

Related Videos: