Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

2014 NHRA Countdown to the Championship: Pro Stock

Jason Line leads the Pro Stock field in the Countdown to the Championship
NHRA Media

The 2014 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Countdown to the Championship begins next weekend, Friday through Sunday, September 12th through 14th, with the NHRA Carolina Nationals at zMAX Dragway in Concord, North Carolina. Here are the top 10 drivers competing for the season honors in Pro Stock (reset points in parenthesis).

1.Jason Line (2110) – picked up four wins in 2014: the season-opener at Pomona, Sonoma, Seattle and Brainerd (ran at Indy).

2.Erica Enders-Stevens (2080) – earned four Wallys this season: Las Vegas, Houston, Bristol and Norwalk.

3.Allen Johnson (2070) – picked up four wins at Phoenix, the Gatornationals at Gainesville, Topeka and Denver.

4.Jeg Coughlin Jr. (2060) – won at Atlanta and Englishtown.

5.Dave Connolly (2050) – picked up a Wally at Epping.

6.Shane Gray (2040) – picked up his first win of the season at the U.S. Nationals at Indy.

7.Vincent Nobile (2030) – earned a Wally at Chicago.

8.V. Gaines (2020) – made three final-round appearances at Pomona, Phoenix and Sonoma.

9.Chris McGaha (2010) – made two semi-final appearances this season.

10.Jonathan Gray (2000) – made two straight final-round appearances at Bristol and Epping.

Stay tuned this week to the NHRA Examiner for a complete look at each of the Mello Yello categories and the participants in the 2014 Countdown to the Championship. Keep up with the action leading up to the Countdown at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad