Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

2014 NHRA Countdown to the Championship: Pro Stock Motorcycle

Andrew Hines leads the Pro Stock Motorcycle field in the Countdown to the Championship
NHRA Media

The 2014 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Countdown to the Championship begins next weekend, Friday through Sunday, September 12th through 14th, with the NHRA Carolina Nationals at zMAX Dragway in Concord, North Carolina. Here are the top 10 drivers competing for the season honors in Pro Stock Motorcycle (reset points in parenthesis).

1.Andrew Hines (2110) – picked up four Wallys this season: Charlotte (4-Wide), Englishtown, Norwalk and Denver.

2.Eddie Krawiec (2080) – picked up wins at Atlanta, Sonoma and the U.S. Nationals at Indy.

3.Hector Arana Jr. (2070) – earned a Wally in Chicago.

4.Hector Arana (2060) – made final round appearances at Chicago and Norwalk.

5.John Hall (2050) – made four semi-final appearances in 2014.

6.Matt Smith (2040) – the 2013 PSM champ made the final round at Epping, where he was defeated by wife Angie.

7.Michael Ray (2030) – made the finals in Denver.

8.Scotty Pollacheck (2020) – made the finals at the Gatornationals at Gainesville.

9.Angie Smith (2010) – picked up here first career win at Epping in the first husband-wife final in Mello Yello Drag Racing Series history.

10.Steve Johnson (2000) – won the first race of the season, the Gatornationals at Gainesville.

Stay tuned this week to the NHRA Examiner for a complete look at each of the Mello Yello categories and the participants in the 2014 Countdown to the Championship. Keep up with the action leading up to the Countdown at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad