Skip to main content

See also:

2014 Madrid Open tennis: Serena Williams v Petra Kvitova live stream and TV time

Serena Williams of USA plays a backhand in his match against Carla Suarez Navarro of Spain during day five of the Mutua Madrid Open tennis tournament at the Caja Magica in Madrid, Spain.
Serena Williams of USA plays a backhand in his match against Carla Suarez Navarro of Spain during day five of the Mutua Madrid Open tennis tournament at the Caja Magica in Madrid, Spain.Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images

World No.1 Serena Williams has reached the elite eight at the 2014 Madrid Open, and on Friday, faces fifth-seeded Petra Kvitova in the first tennis quarterfinal of the day. This WTA women’s singles clash is scheduled for 5 a.m. ET (4 a.m. CT/3 a.m. MT/2 a.m. PT) and will be broadcast live on Tennis Channel and streaming free on ESPN-GO.

According to a May 8 SBN report, the two-time defending champ captured her 650th career victory when she defeated Carla Suarez Navarro in straight sets (6-2, 6-3). The win put Serena two wins away from a hat trick, as she appears to be on a collision course with Maria Sharapova in the finals for a second straight year.

However, the 17-time Grand Slam must not get ahead of herself as she prepares for a battle with the 2011 Madrid Open champion. Truth is that despite the fact that she’s yet to drop a single set thus far, Serena hasn’t looked her best at the Spanish capital this year.

In fact, the final score doesn’t begin to describe how much she struggled with her serve and unforced errors against the 14th seeded Spaniard. Needless to say, Williams will need a better effort against Kvitova, who’s coming off a 6-4, 6-3, win over Lucie Safarova.

Friday’s showdown marks the sixth time that Williams and the world No.6 ranked Czech have crossed paths. However, their encounters have been completely one-sided for the most part, with Serena dropping a single set last year in Doha, Qatar.

Thus, it comes as no surprise that she’s a huge betting favorite in the Madrid Open 2014 quarterfinals. Betting lines have Serena Williams’ odds to win at -550, while Petra Kvitova’s chances of an upset are valued at +425. Finally, the OVER/UNDER equals 19½ games, and alternate spreads go as follows: Williams -5½ [+110] vs. Kvitova +5½ [-126].

Can Williams clean things up and continue to inch closer to her third-straight Madrid Open championship and her 60th career title overall, or is Kvitova determined to expose her weaknesses and finally get that elusive first “W”? Tune to Tennis Channel at 5 a.m. to watch this match live, or simply click on the link provided above to launch the free (Internet) live stream.