Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Neighborhoods
  3. Places & Faces

2014 Legends of Alaska Aviation Announced

See also

Anchorage, Alaska-Pilots, mechanics, aircraft manufacturers, International charter operators, explorers, and air taxi operators are in the line up of the all Alaskan 2014 Legends of Alaska Aviation.

The Alaska Air Carriers Association has announced that a dozen people will be the recipients of the 2014 Legends of Alaska Aviation.

Featured as the 2014 honorees are: Walt Audi, Alfred Ball, Garland Dobson, Royce Morgan, Paul Shanihan, Ron Sheardown, Merrill Wien, Gene Zerkel, Joyce Galleher, Dick and Lavelle Betts, and Warren Thompson.

All of this year's group were chosen by their peers, and nominated by one of last year's Legends of Alaska Aviation.

The Legends of Alaska Aviation is a non-profit effort to tell the story of Alaska aviation history by honoring those living who have been involved in any aspect of aviation. This year will be the third year that the Alaska Air Carriers and the Alaska Aviation Museum have joined to honor Alaskans involved in the state's number one form of transportation.

To help raise funds for the event scheduled for Oct.5, 2014 the Alaska Aviation Museum will donate some of its funds from the Oktoberfest Fundraiser later in month to help with the cost of the event.

Each individual is honored with a plaque and a publication that includes a story of their lives. Continue reading here for more information, bios, photos of each Legend of Alaska Aviation.

For more information contact the Alaska Air Carriers Association at (907) 277-0071.

Rob Stapleton can be reached at: robstapleton(at)



  • Randy Travis
    Randy Travis returns with 'Influence Vol. 2: The Man I Am' in August
    Today's Buzz
  • Alternative medicine
    Alternative medicine: Remedies to make the bugs in your body go away for good
    7 Photos
  • Beach body
    Fitness: Earn your beach body badge with bootcamp classes
    10 Photos
  • Back to school
    These 10 items are sure winners on your back-to-school shopping trip
    12 Photos
  • Izabel Goulart
    Izabel Goulart walks the runway with Studio F at Colombia Moda
    19 Photos
  • Ombre' technique
    Go for the gusto: What ombre' technique are you?
    5 Photos