Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

2014 Kyle Busch Motorsport Truck Series preview

See also

The 2014 Camping World Truck Series schedule kicks off on Friday, February 21st with the running of the NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona International Speedway. Kyle Busch Motorsports will be fielding two teams in 2014: the No. 54 Toyota Tundra for Darrell Wallace Jr. and the No. 51 Tundra, with seat time to be split between owner/driver Kyle Busch and Erik Jones.

Wallace Jr. is coming off a strong rookie season which saw him win his first race at Martinsville Speedway in October, becoming just the second African-American driver to win a race in one of NASCAR’s top-tier series. He finished eighth in points and was part of a tight rookie battle with Jeb Burton and eventual Rookie of the Year Ryan Blaney. Wallace Jr. finished 12th in last year’s season opener at Daytona.

Busch will compete in 10 races in the No. 51 Tundra, while 17-year-old Jones will run the other 12 races. Busch won five times in 11 starts last season, while Jones became the youngest winner in Truck Series history, winning at Phoenix last November in the No. 51; in five races for KBM, he earned five top 10 finishes.

Eric Phillips will call the shots from the No. 51 pit box, while Jerry Baxter will lead the No. 54 team.

Get ready for the 2014 season at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at



  • David Price rumors
    Should the bottom-dwelling Tampa Bay Rays trade or keep pitching ace David Price?
    MLB Rumors
  • Maria Kirilenko slideshow
    Feast your eyes on the former fiance of Alex Ovechkin: The newly-single Maria Kirilenko
    20 Photos
  • Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen has Alzheimer's disease, will step down
    NFL News
  • Sam responds to Dungy
    Michael Sam has the perfect response to Tony Dungy's controversial comments
    NFL News
  • Bella wardrobe malfunction
    Sexy diva Nikki Bella suffers wardrobe malfunction during WWE show
    Fight Sports
  • LeBron gives cupcakes
    LeBron James sends cupcakes to neighbors after press overtakes neighborhood
    Food & Drink