Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

2014 Grand Prix of Indianapolis qualifying: Saavedra takes pole

See also

Sebastian Saavedra took the pole for the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis at Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course. Rookie Jack Hawksworth starts on the outside pole for the 82-lap race at the 2.349-mile, 14-turn course.

Saavedra won the pole with a lap of 1:23.8822 (104.67 mph) in Firestone Fast Six qualifying, with Hawksworth putting down a lap of 1:24.0788 (104.431 mph) for the outside pole. Ryan Hunter-Reay (1:24.8882/103.435 mph) and Simon Pagenaud (1:25.2881/102.950 mph) make up Row Two, followed by Will Power (1:25.5216/102.669 mph) and Scott Dixon (1:25.6548/102.509 mph) in Row Three.

Sebastian Bourdais, Juan Pablo Montoya, Tony Kanaan, Helio Castroneves, James Hinchcliffe and Graham Rahal round out the top 12 in qualifying.

Find the complete lineup for Saturday’s race here.

The inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis goes green Saturday at 3:50 p.m. ET; the race will be telecast live on ABC, with coverage beginning at 3:30 p.m. ET. Keep up with the action at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at