Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

2014 Formula Drift results for Long Beach

Chris Forsberg at Formula Drift in 2013
Chris Forsberg at Formula Drift in 2013
Bonnie Peterson

The Long Beach street course is the one used for the Grand Prix this weekend. This past weekend it was the site of Round 1 of Formula Drift. The other rounds are across the country, the next one in Atlanta, and the final round back in Irwindale but the street course is a unique challenge.

2014 was another sold out year for the Long Beach Formula Drift. The amount of points each driver gets will carry on throughout the year ending in October at Irwindale Speedway. This year the rules changed a little bit as far as judging and standings were not only scored by driver but also by the manufacturer of the cars and the brand of tires. This gives Formula Drift followers a clear view of what cars are better to start drifting in and what tires handle better under competitive drifting.

Of course, the driver is the major factor in winning. For round one the top ten drivers are as follows:

1. Forsberg, Chris Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z 104.50 Points
2. Moen, Kenneth Bridges Racing Nissan 240SX 84.50 Points
3. Essa, Michael Essa Autosport / Yokohama BMW M3 74.00 Points
4. Pawlak, Justin Falken Tire Ford Mustang 68.50 Points
5. Aasbo, Fredric Hankook Tire Scion Racing tC 52.50 Points
6. Wang, Forrest Get Nuts Lab / Hankook Tire / STR Racing Nissan S14 51.00 Points
7. Bakchis, Aurimas Feal Suspension / Nitto Tire Nissan 240SX 51.00 Points
8. McNamara, Darren Falken Tire Nissan S14 51.00 Points
9. Gittin Jr., Vaughn Monster Energy / Nitto Tire Ford Mustang RTR 39.50 Points
10. McQuarrie, Tyler GoPro / Mobil 1 Chevrolet Camaro 38.00 Points

As you can guess Nissan is topping the manufacturer list but Ford is in second. Hankook is the top tire thanks to Chris Forsberg and Falken is number two.

To see the videos from Long Beach, go to Dailymotion driftstream.

Report this ad