Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

2014 Education Innovation Fellows announced

The CityBridge Foundation announced the teachers selected to be 2014 Education Innovations Fellows. The extremely fortunate individuals will engage in a year long study of blending learning in a program sponsored by CityBridge and the New Schools Venture Fund. The Microsoft Corporation supports the effort with a million dollar grant.

Since I have written much about this training I almost feel like I'm a Fellow myself. The program is split into three parts. During the first phase participants learn about the theory and practice of blended learning. They will also travel to schools to observe the technique in action. Next, during the summer months, they will design their own blended learning curriculum and implement pilots at their home school. Finally in the fall the Fellows will gather to learn from their experiences, augment their knowledge about blended learning through lectures and workshops, and plan the 2014 Education Innovation Summit. I spent the entire day at last year's Summit and I can tell you it was so fascinating I did not want to leave.

Here's the list of this year's Fellows:

Shayla Adams , Phelps Architecture, Construction and Engineering High School
Sara Arranz-Ramiro, Cleveland Elementary School
Chris Bergfalk, Savoy Elementary School
Milton Bryant, Ketcham Elementary School
Angel Cintron, Jr., Charles Hart Middle School
Eric Collazo, Friendship Technology Preparatory Academy
Michelle Contee, John Phillip Sousa Middle School
Jamel Daugherty, Washington Latin Public Charter School
Dwight Davis, Wheatley Education Campus
Kristin Fiorini, Wheatley Education Campus
Jerriel Hall, Leckie Elementary School
Adam Hill, Ingenuity Prep Public Charter School
James Howes, Horace Mann Elementary School
Joshua Johnson, Center City Brightwood Public Charter School
Eric Jones, E.L. Haynes Public Charter School
Belinda Omenitsch, Truesdell Education Campus
Connie Parham, E.L. Haynes Public Charter School
Brieanna Samples-Wright, D.C. Scholars Stanton Elementary School
Ashley Sobrinski, Woodrow Wilson Senior High School
Kent Strader, D.C. Prep Benning Elementary

Several prominent charters are represented including Washington Latin PCS, E.L. Haynes PCS, D.C. Prep PCS, Ingenuity Prep PCS, Center City PCS, and Friendship PCS. If you go to the link announcing the Fellows you can read a short biography of each of these dynamic teachers.

Report this ad