Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

2014 Duck Commander 500 qualifying: Stewart takes first pole of 2014

Tony Stewart won his first pole of 2014 at Texas on Saturday
Tony Stewart won his first pole of 2014 at Texas on Saturday
Getty Images for TMS: Jonathan Ferrey

Tony Stewart took his first pole of the 2014 season during knock-out qualifying for the Duck Commander 500 at Texas Motor Speedway. The owner/driver of the No. 14 Mobil 1/Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet SS clocked in with a speed of 195.454 mph (27.628 seconds), beating out Brad Keselowski, who starts second in the No. 2 Miller Lite Ford Fusion after a lap of 195.419 mph (27.633 seconds).

Stewart’s Stewart-Haas Racing teammate Kevin Harvick starts third (195.298mph/27.650 seconds), while Greg Biffle starts fourth (194.700 mph/27.735 seconds). Carl Edwards and Denny Hamlin make up Row Three, followed by Trevor Bayne and Ryan Newman in Row Four. Marcos Ambrose, Joey Logano, Kurt Busch and Jeff Gordon round out the top 12.

The Sprint Cup Series Duck Commander 500 goes green on Sunday at 2 p.m. CT.


JR Motorsports driver Chase Elliott won the first Nationwide Series race of his young career Friday night in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas Motor Speedway. The driver of the No. 9 NAPA Chevrolet Camaro led four times for 38 laps on his way to becoming the second-youngest winner in Nationwide Series history. Elliott passed Kevin Harvick with 15 laps to go to win in just his sixth start in the series, and his first visit to TMS.

“Our car was really good on a 25, 35-lap run and fortunately that's about what it was there at the end so it definitely worked out in our favor,” said Elliott post-race. “Dale (Earnhardt Jr., Elliott’s team owner) was really going on a long run and our car got a little bit too loose but it was just a phenomenal night and an honor to be racing with these guys and obviously these guys know how to get the job done. They've won a lot of races. To race, pass, Kevin for the win and hold off Kyle (Busch) here at the end was really cool to me and hopefully I can do that in the future this year.”

Busch finished second, followed by Kyle Larson in third; Harvick, also in a JR Motorsports car, and Earnhardt Jr. finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Matt Kenseth, Regan Smith, Ryan Blaney, Ty Dillon and Elliott Sadler rounded out the top 10.

Keep up with the action at

Quotes in this piece provided by NASCAR.

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at

Report this ad