Skip to main content
Report this ad

See also:

2014 Colorado State Golden Gloves Finals tonight

S. Mondragon
The (above) talented Shon Mondragon taking on the just as talented Melik Elliston in a clash of 108 pounders, may just be the match of the night.

Tonight at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Events Center, 15500 E. 40th Ave. (I-70 & Chambers) in Denver, the Finals of the 2014 Colorado State Golden Gloves Tournament comes to a close with the crowning of 26 competing champions.

Every year the participants of the Colorado State Golden Gloves Tournament give their heart and soul to the sport they love, a mere handful being ‘officially’ declared champions but all deserving recognition.

The hard work of these amateur boxers is shared with the work of the many who volunteer their time to make sure things run as smoothly as possible with Colorado State Golden Gloves (and 2013 Colorado Golden Gloves Hall-Of-Fame inductee) Chief-of-Officials Jeanne DePriest, leading the way giving daily updates of competition results taking her early into the morning hours.

This year we again have many ‘Unopposed Champions’, those unable to have anyone in their weight/age/experience category available, most devastated their preparation resulted in no competition but each honored with the title of Golden Gloves Tournament Champion.

The tonight festivities begin at 4PM with the Hall-Of-Fame Banquet where the 2014 inductees are recognized followed by doors opening at 6:30PM for competition beginning at 7:30PM naming the 2014 Colorado State Golden Gloves Champion.

Each of the 26 bouts tonight has evenly matched amateur boxers making this ‘must see’ entertainment, with tickets available for purchase at the door.

  • Adrian Baca-Escamilla vs Martin Mercado (119 Junior)
  • Alex Garcia-Alba vs Efren Villalobos (138 Junior)
  • Xochitl Salcido vs Vanessa Villereal (female 145 Junior)
  • Mario Loya vs Jose Jurado (145 Junior)
  • Cristian Escobedo vs Aaron Lopez (165 Junior)
  • Misael Luna vs Chris Montoya (176+ Junior)
  • Mandy Kuhlman-Green vs Bailey Winters (female 132 Novice)
  • Vincent Castillo vs Taurino Taurino Villalobos (132 Novice)
  • Mericia Quinones-Monarrez vs Patricia Juarez (female 141 Novice)
  • Hector Cardenas vs Milton Roque (141 Novice)
  • Erik Ledezma vs Jesus Tarang0-Rameriz (152 Novice)
  • Cristian DeLaRosa vs Baltazar Gutierrez (165 Novice)
  • Shawn McCalman vs Scott Lackey (178 Novice)
  • Abraheem Zadron vs Stanley Galloway, Jr. (201 Novice)
  • Jose Gonzalez vs Ja'Wann Jackson (201+ Novice)
  • Ashley Barela vs Alex Love (female 106 Open)
  • Melik Elliston vs Shon Mondragon (108 Open)
  • Andrew Strode vs Eusbaldo Rameriz (114 Open)
  • Charles Williams vs Armando Mercado (132 Open)
  • Rianna Rios vs Amorena Baca (female 132 Open)
  • Roland Zaragoza vs Jesus Vasquez (132 Open)
  • Katina Melendrez vs Hannah Terlep (female 141 Open)
  • Erion Johnson vs Alexis Saenz (141 Open)
  • Reyes Marquez vs Jake Baca (152 Open)
  • Marquis Moore vs Rocky Vigil (165 Open)
  • Bobby Calderon vs Steven Nelson (178 Open)

Condolences to the 'Denver boxing community committed' and popular Manny 'Manos Perez, his wife Leann Perez and their families, 'Manos' father passing away earlier this week. May he R.I.P.

Stephen Johnson feature writes for BORICUA, UNTIL THE NEXT and UNDISPUTED FIGHT

Report this ad