Skip to main content

See also:

2014 BNP Paribas Open Roger Federer v Paul-Henri Mathieu live stream TV schedule

Roger Federer of Switzerland celebrates.
Roger Federer of Switzerland celebrates.
Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

After a successful 2014 BNP Paribas Open (doubles) debut, Roger Federer gets set to serve off the singles portion of his (scheduled) draw when he faces unseeded Frenchman Paul-Henri Mathieu in a match that will be televised on Tennis Channel and streaming live on ESPN (online).

According to an ESPN report on March 8, Federer and reigning Australian Open 2014 champ, Stanislas Wawrinka teamed up to defeat Rohan Bopanna (India) and Aisam-ul-Haq Qureshi (Pakistan) Friday night by a score of 6-2 6-7(4), 10-6.

With second-round men’s singles action getting underway today in Indian Wells, Calif., Switzerland’s gold-medal (Beijing 2008) duo will go their separate ways. Seventh-seeded Federer opens things up against Mathieu tonight (Stadium 1), while his third-seed countryman faces Croatia’s Ivo Karlovic at Stadium 2.

“It’s not the first time I have been asked that question,” Wawrinka responded when asked what it felt like to be ranked above the 17-time Grand Slam champ. “Roger is the greatest player of all time, so it doesn’t matter.”

Federer brings a perfect 6-0 record against his second-round opponent, who’s ranked 123rd in the world according to the ATP Tour. The last time the Swiss Master and Mathieu met dates back to 2012 in Switzerland (Basel), where the hometown favorite prevailed in straight-sets, 7-5, 6-4.

Thus, it should come as no surprise that Roger Federer is a mammoth [-4000] money-line favorite to remain unbeaten against Paul-Henri Mathieu [+1400] this evening in the Calif. desert.

This 2014 BNP Paribas Open men’s singles (second round) match gets underway around 6 p.m. EST (5 p.m. CST/4 p.m. MST/3 p.m. PST) following the conclusion of Andy Murray versus Lukas Rosol (Stadium 1).

As stated above, Tennis Channel will handle TV (schedule) broadcasting duties from 2 p.m. all the way through 10 p.m. (EST) on Stadiums 1 and 2. To watch the Federer-Mathieu live stream on a desktop or Internet mobile devices simply follow the aforementioned live streaming schedule by clicking here.