Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

2014 ASCAP Christian Music Awards: Matthew West named Songwriter of the Year

See also

On Monday, May 5th, 2014 at the historic Franklin Theatre in Franklin, Tenn., The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) honored the songwriters and publishers at the 36th annual ASCAP Christian Music Awards, held.

Matthew West was awarded two of the top honors at the 36th annual ASCAP Christian Music Awards. West was named Songwriter of the Year after having an amazing 2013 with his hit song "Hello My Name Is," a record-breaking No. 1 song at Christian radio for 17 weeks. The song also earned West the ASCAP Song of the Year. He was also honored for his song "Already There," recorded by Casting Crowns.

ASCAP President and Chairman of the Board Paul Williams presented Christian music trailblazers Amy Grant and Michael W. Smith with a special award in honor of ASCAP’s 100th birthday. “Why We Create Music,” the ASCAP-commissioned short film featuring Grant among many other notable members from across all genres, was screened at the event to commemorate ASCAP’s centennial.

Top honors went to:

ASCAP Christian Music Songwriter of the Year: Matthew West
ASCAP Christian Music Song of the Year: “Hello My Name Is,” written and recorded by Matthew West, published by Combustion Music Publishing and Warner/Chappell Music Publishing
ASCAP Christian Music Publisher of the Year: Capitol CMG Publishing

Performances included MercyMe with “You Are I Am;” Matthew West with his 2014 Christian Music Song of the Year, “Hello My Name Is;” and, in a special tribute to ASCAP’s top Christian music songs of the past 100 years, Michael W. Smith and MercyMe’s Bart Millard performed a medley of worship standards “Awesome God” and “I Can Only Imagine.”

Amy Grant and Michael W. Smith were honored as “cornerstones of Christian music” for their groundbreaking 35-year careers and significant influence on the genre. Songwriter-artist Ashley Cleveland performed “Thy Word” in honor of Grant and Smith.

ASCAP Publisher Board member Barry Coburn presented the ASCAP Christian Music Publisher of the Year award to Capitol CMG Publishing, who claimed the title for the 11th consecutive year with 11 award-winning songs: “Every Good Thing,” “Overcomer,” “My God,” “Words,” “Lord I Need You,” “Your Love Never Fails,” “You Are,” “Live With Abandon,” “Build Your Kingdom Here,” “God’s Great Dance Floor” and “Carry Me.” Capitol CMG Publishing President Eddie DeGarmo and his team accepted the award.