Skip to main content

See also:

2014 5-Hour Energy 400 qualifying: Harvick, Logano on front row at Kansas

Kevin Harvick won the pole for Saturday night's 5-Hour Energy 400 at Kansas Speedway
Kevin Harvick won the pole for Saturday night's 5-Hour Energy 400 at Kansas SpeedwayPhoto by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Kevin Harvick earned the pole for Saturday night’s 5-Hour Energy 400 Benefitting Special Operations Warrior Foundation at Kansas Speedway with a speed of 194.252 mph (27.799 seconds). Joey Logano will start on the outside pole after his fast lap of 193.910 mph (27.848 seconds) in the final round of knock-out qualifying.

Logano’s Team Penske teammate Brad Keselowski qualified third with a speed of 193.507 mph (27.906 seconds), and starts next to Carl Edwards after his lap of 193.188 mph (27.952 seconds). Kyle Larson (193.050 mph/27.972 seconds) and Kurt Busch (193.043 mph/27.973 seconds) make up Row Three, with Ryan Newman (192.816 mph/28.006 seconds) and Tony Stewart (192.548 mph/28.045 seconds) in Row Four. Danica Patrick, Greg Biffle, Jamie McMurray and Aric Almirola round out the top 12 in qualifying.

Kansas native Clint Bowyer will start 23rd at his home track, while Ryan Blaney will make his Sprint Cup Series debut from the 21st position, qualifying at the expense of his father, Dave, who is the only car to go home from Kansas.

The 5-Hour Energy 400 goes green at 6:30 p.m. CT on Saturday night. Keep up with the action at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at