Skip to main content
  1. Sports
  2. Motorsports

2013 NHRA year in review: Pro Stock Motorcycle

See also

The 2013 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Pro Stock Motorcycle category saw owner/rider Matt Smith take home his second PSM title, wrapping up the achievement in Las Vegas with one race to go. Smith reached the final round in half of his appearances in 2013, winning four times and coming home runner-up four times in the 16-race schedule.

Smith won his first event of the season at Norwalk in July, then won three straight races in the Countdown to the Championship, at St. Louis, Reading and Las Vegas. He had a rough start to the season, placing as low as 10th in points following a first-round exit at Houston.

Michael Ray was runner-up to Smith, taking home two Wallys this season at Englishtown and Chicago. 2012 champ Eddie Krawiec had a rough season, making just one final round in the first 10 races of the season. After qualifying seventh for the Countdown, the three-time champ made a strong push in the playoffs, winning twice and moving himself up to third in final points.

Hector Arana Jr., who held the points lead through the season’s first 12 races, ended up finishing fourth after failing to make it past the second round in the final four races. Arana Jr. took home Wallys from the first three events of the season (Gainesville, Charlotte and Houston), then added a win at Sonoma. His father, 2009 champ Hector, finished fifth in points, while younger brother Adam finished 10th in his rookie season in PSM.

Scotty Pollacheck and LE Tonglet finished sixth and seventh, respectively. John Hall, who won at New England and Indianapolis, finished eight and Shawn Gann, winner at Denver, finished ninth.

Andrew Hines, who failed to qualify for the Countdown, won the Countdown-opening event at Charlotte to earn the only win of the season by a non-playoff qualifier.

The top 10 drivers following the Countdown to the Championship were:

1. Matt Smith – 2633 (four wins)

2. Michael Ray – 2510 (two wins)

3. Eddie Krawiec – 2492 (two wins)

4. Hector Arana Jr. – 2464 (four wins)

5. Hector Arana – 2456

6. Scotty Pollacheck – 2385

7. LE Tonglet – 2383

8. John Hall – 2351 (two wins)

9. Shawn Gann – 2247 (one win)

10. Adam Arana – 2244

Keep up with the NHRA off-season at

Check out Paula’s Examiner columns on motorsports:

· Motorsports Travel


· Joe Gibbs Racing

· Kyle Busch Motorsports

· Buffalo Motorsports

Follow Paula on:

· Facebook – Paula Thompson Freelance and Motorsports

· Twitter - @paulat14

· Website –

· Flickr – Paula Thompson Freelance

Contact Paula at



  • Lance Armstrong steps back into the spotlight with a new instructional video
    Watch Video
  • The Penguins and Canadiens take early series leads in the Stanley Cup Playoffs
  • It only took 14 innings, but the Red Sox emerge victorious over Chicago 6-4
  • Chris Johnson finally finds a home, signing a 2-year deal with the Jets
  • Falcons owner Arthur Blank will bring an MLS franchise to Atlanta in 2017
  • The NBA Playoffs are set, find out which team has the best odds to win it all

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!