Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Sports
  3. Soccer

2 NASL clubs advance to US Open Cup Quarterfinals

See also

Tuesday night, the Carolina RailHawks and Atlanta Silverbacks of the Division 2 North American Soccer League (NASL) advanced into the Quarterfinals of the 2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. Three NASL clubs competed against MLS clubs in the Fifth Round, and although the New York Cosmos were eliminated, the Railhawks and Silverbacks will continue to represent the League. The prize for the Championship one of the four U.S. representatives to the CONCACAF Champions League.

Tuesday, the Carolina Railhawks advanced out of Round 5 with a stoppage time goal to shut out the Los Angeles Galaxy 1-0 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. In Quarterfinals, the Railhawks will look to extend their 23 game home unbeaten streak against FC Dallas.

The Atlanta Silverbacks held on for a 2-1 road victory over the Colorado Rapids with only eight men on the field at Dick's Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Next, Atlanta will host the winner of Wednesday night's Chicago Fire vs. Columbus Crew match.

The New York Cosmos fell 2-1 to Philadelphia Union at PPL Park in Chester, Pa.

"This is a tremendous accomplishment for the Carolina RailHawks and Atlanta Silverbacks and the League as a whole," said NASL Commissioner Bill Peterson. "All of our clubs have shown tremendous heart and skill as they have progressed through the Cup and tonight, while the New York Cosmos came up just short, it has been great soccer. The NASL's run in the 2014 US Open Cup will continue with a pair of tough Quarterfinal matchups our clubs will host on July 8 or 9. They will be ready."

The Quarterfinal Matches for NASL clubs

Columbus Crew (MLS)/Chicago Fire (MLS) winner at Atlanta Silverbacks (NASL)
TBD, 7:30 p.m. ET
Atlanta Silverbacks Park, Atlanta, Ga.

FC Dallas (MLS) at Carolina RailHawks (NASL)
July 9, 7:30 p.m. ET
WakeMed Soccer Park, Cary, NC

NASL member teams are: Atlanta Silverbacks, Carolina RailHawks, FC Edmonton, Fort Lauderdale Strikers, Indy Eleven, Minnesota United FC, New York Cosmos, Ottawa Fury FC, San Antonio Scorpions FC and Tampa Bay Rowdies. Jacksonville Armada, Virginia Cavalry FC and Oklahoma City will commence play in 2015.



Today's top buzz...

  • Weird Al
    'Weird Al' Yankovic gains his first number one album with 'Mandatory Fun'
    Music Buzz
  • LeBron James
    Frank Caliendo channels Morgan Freeman when reading LeBron James' letter
    NBA Buzz
  • NFL jerseys
    New York Giants and Jets fail to breach NFL's top 25 in jersey sales
    NFL Buzz
  • Slash
    Slash and The Conspirators crush it at Hard Rock, AP Awards
    20 Photos
  • Monks of Mellonwah
    Exclusive interview: Monks of Mellonwah talk music, touring and more
    9 Photos
  • Bad Company
    Bad Company and Lynyrd Skynyrd deliver a double dose of hits at the Blossom Music Center
    20 Photos