Skip to main content
  1. AXS Entertainment
  2. Arts & Entertainment
  3. Music

16th Texas Gospel Music Excellence Awards [Winners]

See also

16th Texas Gospel Music Awards [Winners]

More Photos

The 2014 Texas Gospel Music Awards celebrated its 16th year in Houston, Texas. This event was hosted by Stellar Award Winner Earnest Pugh and Sunday's Best Maurice Griffin. Below are the winners of their perspective categories. A big congratulations to all!

{State of Texas Recipients}

Church Choir

Winner: Greater St. Matthew Baptist Church

Male Soloist

Winner: Minister. James Henderson


Winner: Rayshod Caldwell

Female Group

Winner: Shaw Sisters

Choir Director

Winner: Minister Ronald Materre


Winner: Brittany Johnson & Identity

Gospel Artist of the Year

Winner: Marquinn Middleton & Miracle Chorale

Gospel Rap

Winner: Greg "Puntin" Cooks

Male Group

Winner: For The Lord

Youth Group

Winner: Kimmie & Gifted

Female Soloist Winner: Pastor Bridgett Hill

Quartet Group

Winner: Endurance

Youth Choir

Winner: Texas Mass Young Adult Choir

Best New CD/Project

Winner: Eric Carrington

Community Choir

Winner: Texas Mass Choir

Gospel Group

Winner: Anointed Voices of Deliverance

Praise Dance Ministry

Winner: Designed 2 Dance

Spoken Word or Poetry Artist

Winner: Gloria Cooks

Praise Dance Director

Winner: Felicia McGowan

Youth Soloist.

Winner: Steven Warren

Praise & Worship Leader/EmCee

Winner: Evangelist Stephana High

Praise & worship Leader/ Ministry

Winner: Brandee Nelson

Best New Artist

Winner: Minister Timothy Abbott

Gospel Announcer

Winner: Carmina Barnett

{National Recipients}

Male Soloist

Winner: Minister Wayne Anthony

Female Group

Winner: Inspired Catholic Voices

Church Choir

Winner: Pastor H. C. Dixon & Truth Ministry

Gospel Artist of the Year

Winner: Gail Fly

Male Group

Winner: M. Boykins & Mighty Voices

New Artist of the Year

Winner: Dr. Patrick Wooden & Upper Room Choir

Female Soloist

Winner: Gail Fly

Community Choir

Winner: DR. E. LeQuint Weaver & Hallelujah Singers

Gospel Group

Winner: Douglas Sisters

Best CD/Project

Winner: Earl Bynum& the Mount

Again here is a big congratulations to all of the 2014 recipients of the Texas Gospel Music Excellence Awards.


Today's top buzz...

  • Coachella
    The set times you need to know have been announced for Coachella
    Festival Buzz
  • Lamar Odom
    The New York Knicks are giving Lamar Odom another shot in the NBA
    NBA Buzz
  • Porsha Williams
    See why 'Real Housewives of Atlanta' star Porsha Williams posed for this mug shot
    TV News
  • NHL tickets
    If you're looking to catch an NHL playoff game in NYC, don't expect to do so on a budget
    NHL Buzz
  • Transcendence
    Review: ‘Transcendence’ fascinates, but does it rise above the field?
    Movies Buzz
  • Kobe Bryant
    Kobe Bryant has agreed to cooperate with an all-access documentary about his life
    Sports Buzz

Related Videos:

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about and apply today!