Skip to main content
  1. Life
  2. Style & Fashion
  3. Fashion Trends

12th Annual GEM Awards celebrates industry leaders in New York City

See also

NEW YORK CITY- Fine jewelry enthusiasts, designers, and several A-List celebrities gathered on the red carpet over the weekend to celebrate the 12th Annual GEM Awards at a gala event in New York City. The Annual GEM Awards for jewelers have been compared to Hollywood's Academy Awards in the past. The event was hosted by Jewelers of America, and this year's event kicked off with a brand new format. This awards ceremony marks the first year that winners weren't announced in advance. During the evening, the following awards were presented:

  • GEM Award for Design: Kara Ross, founder of Kara Ross. Her designs are known for unique mediums across the board in relation to jewelry, handbags, and other accessories.
  • GEM Award for Media Excellence: Victoria Golmelsky, Editor in Chief for the publication "JCK." Golmelsky's freelance work has appeared in domestic and international publications promoting the visibility and status of fine jewelry.
  • GEM Award for Communications: Tiffany & Co. The company was recognized for their commitment to design, excellence, and customer service all over the world. The Tiffany Company is well known for it's jewelry design and other luxury goods. Many people remember the Tiffany Company for the lamps the company produced from 1890-1930. Today, a rare authentic Tiffany lamp is worth a small fortune.
  • 2014 Gem Award for Lifetime Achievement: Marie Helene Morrow, owner of Reinhold Jewelers based in Puerto Rico. Morrow was recognized for the Lifetime Achievement Award for her dedication to the jewelry community, her charity work throughout the years, and building relationships with budding artists and established names alike.

The winners were reviewed and carefully selected by the GEM Awards committee, which was comprised of a large panel of industry leaders who voted via confidential ballots based on criteria for each category. Nominees are usually selected months prior to the ceremony for respective categories. Each year, the GEM awards recognizes individuals, retailers, and members of the media for their achievements in the fashion industry. Lara Spencer of ABC's "Good Morning America" emceed this year's event.



  • Derek Hough
    Derek Hough brings quadruple threat talent to 'DWTS' and beyond
    Today's Buzz
  • Hookah smoking
    Young adults believe hookah smoking pose no health threat
    7 Photos
  • Top outdoor activities
    Don't spend your summer indoors: Top outdoor activities to do with your significant other
    10 Photos
  • Baby shower idea for men
    A new twist on baby showers is throwing a Daddy Baby-Q
    7 Photos
  • Wedding special
    'Curvy Brides' offers a new look into every bride's pursuit for her picture perfect wedding gown
    7 Photos
  • Morbid obesity
    Health: Morbid obesity decreases life span by up to 16 years
    7 Photos

Related Videos:

  • Just released Lux Leather
    <div class="video-info" data-id="518274076" data-param-name="playList" data-provider="5min" data-url=""></div>
  • DIY Shamrock Earrings
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>
  • Jewelers of America
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//;allowfullscreen=true&amp;autoplay=1"></iframe>